Delete backups
If the backup repository is full, new backups will not be created. To ensure old backups are automatically deleted when creating new ones, configure the Retention Policy when setting up backup — the number of restore points to keep or the number of days for which backups will be stored.
To check the repository status, you can view resource consumption statistics.
Delete backup
You can delete a specific backup from the machine on which it was created. To do this, the following conditions must be met:
- a backup agent must be installed on the machine, and the Selectel cloud repository must be available;
- in the Veeam Service Provider Console portal, the machine must be in the
Onlinestatus.
You can delete all backups from the cloud by deleting backup jobs on the Veeam Service Provider Console portal.
Linux
Windows
Learn more about deleting backups in the Deleting Backups section of the Veeam Agent for Linux documentation.
-
Display a list of backups:
sudo veeamconfig backup list --all -
Copy the
backup_id, which is the identifier of the required backup. -
Delete the backup job:
sudo veeamconfig backup delete --id <backup_id> --purgeSpecify
<backup_id>— the backup identifier.
Clear backup repository
After clearing the backup repository, the information in resource consumption statistics will not update immediately. It will happen after the first successful backup job execution.
- Delete backup jobs along with the backups themselves.
- If repository space is not freed up or only partially freed up, create a ticket to have the repository cleared.