Skip to main content

Manage VDS server operation

You can manage VDS server operation:

If a VDS server is turned off, it is still billed because resources are allocated to it: a local disk, a public IP address. To stop billing, delete the server. For more information about the VDS server billing model, see the VDS server billing model and prices guide.

Turn off the server

When turning off the server, the operating system shuts down correctly. Power will then be turned off.

If the server does not respond within a certain time, it will be shut down forcibly. In case of a forced shutdown, unsaved data may be lost.

  1. In the control panel, in the top menu, click Products and select VDS servers.

  2. In the server's menu, select Turn off.

Turn on the server

When turned on, the operating system boots and volumes are connected.

  1. In the control panel, in the top menu, click Products and select VDS servers.

  2. In the server's menu, select Turn on.

Rebuild the server

carefully

When you rebuild the server, all data on the local disk is deleted; the IP address remains the same.

Recreating reinstalls the operating system on the server. Use this if you need a clean OS or if the root password has been lost.

  1. In the control panel, in the top menu, click Products and select VDS servers.

  2. In the server's menu, select Rebuild server.

  3. Save the new password. You can copy it by clicking next to the password.

  4. Enter the server name to confirm the rebuild.

  5. Click Rebuild.