Skip to main content

Update Kubernetes version

In a Managed Kubernetes cluster, you can:

Update minor version

carefully

When updating a Managed Kubernetes cluster on cloud servers, all nodes will be reinstalled. All data on the boot disk will be deleted.

In Managed Kubernetes clusters on dedicated servers, master nodes will be restarted one by one, followed by worker nodes. The update may take from 30 minutes to 12 hours — the duration depends on the cluster size. Once started, the update cannot be stopped.

  1. In the Control panel, in the top menu, click Products and select Managed Kubernetes.
  2. Under Clusters, open the cluster page → Settings tab.
  3. In the Cluster settings block, click Show available versions.
  4. Select a version to update to.
  5. Optional: to view the version changelog in the official Kubernetes documentation, click Version changelog.
  6. Click Update.

Enable auto-updates for patch versions

For your information

Auto-updates for patch versions are not available:

  • in basic clusters;
  • in fault-tolerant clusters with fewer than two worker nodes.
carefully

When updating a Managed Kubernetes cluster on cloud servers, all nodes will be reinstalled. All data on the boot disk will be deleted.

In Managed Kubernetes clusters on dedicated servers, master nodes will be restarted one by one, followed by worker nodes. The update may take from 30 minutes to 12 hours — the duration depends on the cluster size. Once started, the update cannot be stopped.

The cluster will be upgraded to the latest available patch release during the next cluster maintenance.

You can enable auto-update of patch releases when creating a cluster or for an existing cluster.

To enable auto-updates for patch versions:

  1. In the Control panel, in the top menu, click Products and select Managed Kubernetes.
  2. Under Clusters, open the cluster page → Settings tab.
  3. In the Automation block, turn on the Auto-update patch releases toggle switch.