PostgreSQL PGVector settings
In a PostgreSQL PGVector cluster, you can configure DBMS settings. Some settings are configured at the cluster level, some at the user level.
Cluster-level settings
PostgreSQL PGVector cluster-level settings affect the operability and performance of the database cluster. When creating a cluster, default values are set. Default values are selected to ensure high cluster performance and vary depending on the cluster configuration and the version of PostgreSQL PGVector.
You can:
- view the default values for settings and change them when creating a cluster;
- or view settings and change them in an already created cluster.
We recommend changing settings only when necessary — incorrect values can render the cluster inoperable or reduce its performance.
Some settings configured at the cluster level can be overridden at the user level.
When scaling a cluster, some settings may be automatically reset to default values. You can view the list of such settings in the Automatic change of settings when scaling a cluster subsection.
View cluster-level settings
If you changed the settings, you can separately view the list of settings whose values differ from the defaults.
For a detailed description of all settings, see the Server Configuration section of the PostgreSQL documentation.
- In the Control panel, from the top menu, click Products and select Cloud Databases.
- Open the Active tab.
- Open the cluster page → Settings tab.
- In the DBMS settings block, click Edit.
- Optional: to view only the settings where you changed the default value, select the Show modified parameters checkbox.
- View the settings.
Change cluster-level settings
We recommend changing settings only when necessary — incorrect values can render the cluster inoperable or reduce its performance.
After changing some settings, the cluster will automatically restart and will be unavailable during the restart. The restart will begin immediately after saving the changes. Settings that require a restart are marked with the . icon.
- In the Control panel, from the top menu, click Products and select Cloud Databases.
- Open the Active tab.
- Open the cluster page → Settings tab.
- In the DBMS settings block, click Edit.
- Specify new values.
- Click Save.
Automatic change of settings when scaling a cluster
DBMS settings have allowable value limits. If, when scaling a cluster, setting values fall outside the allowable limits, they are automatically replaced with default values so that the cluster can operate.
Once the cluster is scaled and enters the ACTIVE status, you will be able to change the settings and set new values.
List of settings whose values change to defaults when scaling a cluster:
autovacuum_max_workers;effective_cache_size;maintenance_work_mem;max_parallel_workers;max_wal_size;max_worker_processes;shared_buffers;vacuum_cost_limit;work_mem.
Configuring huge_pages
The huge_pages setting is available for PostgreSQL PGVector versions 15 and higher.
In Managed Databases for PostgreSQL PGVector, you can enable and disable the Huge Pages technology using the huge_pages setting.
Huge Pages is a memory management technology that allows using larger memory pages than standard ones. The standard memory page size is 4 KB. After enabling the huge_pages setting, 2 MB memory pages are available. The Huge Pages technology can be used, for example, for shared buffers. This technology helps reduce overhead on compute resources: vCPU and RAM.
Possible values are on and off. The default value is off. If you change the setting value, the cluster will automatically restart and will be unavailable during the restart. The restart will begin immediately after saving the changes.
If the huge_pages setting is enabled, but shared memory limits do not allow using Huge Pages, the cluster will switch to the ERROR status. In this case, we recommend reducing the value of the shared_buffers setting.
User-level settings
User-level settings affect how PostgreSQL PGVector handles user queries. When creating a user, the settings are set to their default values.
You can:
- view default values for settings and change them when creating a user;
- or view and change settings of an existing user.
Settings configured at the user level override settings that apply at the cluster level.
List of user-level settings
bypassrls;conn_limit;default_transaction_isolation;default_transaction_read_only;idle_in_transaction_session_timeout;idle_session_timeout;lock_timeout;login;log_min_duration_statement;log_statement;statement_timeout;synchronous_commit;temp_file_limit;work_mem.
For a detailed description of all settings, see the Server Configuration section of the PostgreSQL documentation.
View user-level settings
If you changed the settings, you can separately view a list of settings whose values differ from the default values.
- In the control panel, in the top menu, click Products and select Cloud Databases.
- Open the Active tab.
- Open the cluster page → Users tab.
- In the menu of the user, select Configure.
- In the Custom DBMS settings block, click Edit.
- Optional: to view only the settings where you changed the default value, select the Show modified parameters checkbox.
- View the settings.
Change user-level settings
- In the control panel, in the top menu, click Products and select Cloud Databases.
- Open the Active tab.
- Open the cluster page → Users tab.
- In the menu of the user, select Configure.
- In the Custom DBMS settings block, click Edit.
- Specify the new values.
- Click Save.