MySQL sync cluster backups
In MySQL sync Managed Databases, cluster backups are created automatically—you do not need to configure them yourself or keep track of backup creation.
The WAL-G tool is used to create cluster backups. Point-in-Time Recovery is performed using binary log entries.
Backups are stored in isolation from other users' backups.
Backups cannot be exported. Automatic backup creation cannot be disabled.
Backup schedule
- full cluster backups are created once a day;
- binlog files are created regularly or as a certain volume of changes accumulates.
Backup retention period
Backups are stored for 7 days, after which they are deleted.
Backups of deleted clusters are stored for 7 days from the moment of creation. From a backup, you can restore a cluster.
Restore cluster
You can restore a cluster from a backup to any point in time within the last 7 days.
Restoring creates a new database cluster — you can change the name, configuration (with the same or larger disk size), number of nodes, network, and DBMS settings. Location, DBMS type, and version cannot be changed.
If the cluster is not deleted
If the cluster is deleted
- In the Control panel, on the top menu, click Products and select Managed Databases.
- Open the Active tab.
- In the cluster menu, select Restore.
- Choose how to restore the cluster: from the last available backup or to a specific point in time within the last 7 days.
- You will be redirected to the new cluster creation page. If necessary, change the cluster settings (more details in the Create a cluster instructions) and click Create cluster.
- After the cluster is restored, the node addresses will change; update them in the application connecting to the cluster.