Skip to main content

Move a cloud server disk

You can only transfer a network volume:

Move a disk to another pool segment

To transfer a volume to another pool segment, you need to create its image, transfer the image, and create a new volume from it. It is not possible to transfer a volume directly to another pool segment.

When transferring a volume image, you can select another project or account.

  1. Create a volume image.
  2. Transfer the image to another pool segment.
  3. Create a volume from the image.
  4. Optional: delete the volume image.

Move a disk to another project or account

You can transfer a network volume to another project or account only within the same pool segment. You can transfer one volume or multiple volumes at once.

  1. Detach the volume from the cloud server.

  2. In the Control panel, in the top menu, click Products and select Cloud Servers.

  3. Go to the Volumes section.

  4. In the volume menu, select Transfer to another project.

  5. Click Start transfer. The volume status will change to AWAITING_TRANSFER and it will be unavailable for work.

  6. Save the transfer ID and key.

  7. Optional: to cancel the transfer at any time (switch the volume back to the ACTIVE status), in the volume menu, select Manage transfer and click Cancel transfer.

  8. In a separate browser tab, open the project to which you want to transfer the volume.

  9. In the Control panel, in the top menu, click Products and select Cloud Servers.

  10. Go to the Volumes section.

  11. Click Transfer volumes.

  12. Select Accept volumes.

  13. Select the location from which the volumes are being transferred from the source project or account.

  14. Select Accept one volume.

  15. Enter the transfer ID and key that you saved in step 6.

  16. Click Accept volume.