Skip to main content

Delete a DNS record

You can delete a DNS record or delete an individual value from a record.

If a network is connected to a DNS zone and you delete an automatically added A or AAAA record, the record will be added again when changing the IP address or port domain name in the network. Automatically added records are marked with the tag Auto.

You can check if a network is connected to a zone in the control panel: in the top menu, click Products → Cloud Servers → Private DNS → DNS Resolvers tab → in the network row, the DNS zone field.

Delete a record

  1. In the control panel, in the top menu, click Products and select Cloud Servers.
  2. Go to Private DNS.
  3. Open the zone page.
  4. In the Records section, select the records you want to delete.
  5. Above the Records section, click .
  6. To confirm deleting the records, click Delete.

Delete a value from a record

You can delete a value in records of types A, AAAA, MX, and TXT. For a CNAME record, you can only delete the record completely.

  1. In the control panel, in the top menu, click Products and select Cloud Servers.
  2. Go to Private DNS.
  3. Open the zone page.
  4. In the Records section, in the row of the required A or AAAA record, click and select Edit record.
  5. In the IPv4 address or IPv6 address field, delete the required IP address. You cannot delete all addresses; instead, delete the record.
  6. Click Save.